Home / News / 2021 MLB All-Star Week Coverage on SiriusXM

2021 MLB All-Star Week Coverage on SiriusXM

All-Star Game (Eric Kilby on Flickr)

SiriusXM today announced its extensive programming plans for Major League Baseball’s 2021 All-Star Week, which will deliver comprehensive coverage to listeners around the country and feature live broadcasts of the 91st All-Star Game Presented by Mastercard, the T-Mobile Home Run Derby, the SiriusXM All-Star Futures Game, the MLB Draft, plus other special programming live from Denver, Colorado.

SiriusXM All-Star Futures Game

On Sunday, July 11, SiriusXM will have the exclusive radio broadcast of the SiriusXM All-Star Futures Game, featuring the best minor league prospects from the American League and National League competing against each other.  Pre-game coverage on the MLB Network Radio channel on SiriusXM (channel 89) will begin from Coors Field at 1:00 pm ET/11:00 am MT with a special edition of the weekly show, Minors & Majors, hosted by Grant Paulsen.  MLB Network Radio’s broadcast of the SiriusXM All-Star Futures Game will begin at 3:00 pm ET/1:00 pm MT and will feature Mike Ferrin as the play-by-play voice and former MLB GM Jim Duquette as the analyst.  Before, during and after the game, former MLB GM Jim Bowden and Paulsen will conduct interviews with players from the AL and NL team dugouts.

MLB Draft

Sunday evening SiriusXM’s MLB Network Radio channel will offer live coverage of the first round of the MLB Draft, which is being held for the first time ever as part of All-Star Week.  SiriusXM’s pre-Draft show will air at 6:00 pm ET/4:00 pm MT.  The Draft begins at 7:00 pm ET/5:00 pm MT and SiriusXM listeners will hear the live selections of every team in the first round, accompanied by commentary and analysis from former GM’s Jim Bowden and Jim Duquette, alongside Mike Ferrin and Grant Paulsen.  SiriusXM’s broadcast team will also conduct interviews with several of the draft picks in attendance at the Bellco Theater in Denver.

T-Mobile Home Run Derby

On Monday, July 12, SiriusXM’s on-site programming from Denver will begin at 2:00 pm ET/noon MT with MLB Network Radio hosts Grant Paulsen, Jim Bowden and Jenny Cavnar, who is also a Colorado Rockies broadcaster, hosting live from Coors Field.  At 5:00 pm ET/3:00 pm MT former Rockies outfielder Ryan Spilborghs, Mike Ferrin and Jim Duquette will be on the field to host SiriusXM’s pre-game programming and interview many of the All-Stars in attendance.  The MLB Network Radio channel will air ESPN Radio’s broadcast of the Home Run Derby starting at 8:00 pm ET/6:00 pm MT.

MLB All-Star Game Presented by Mastercard

On Tuesday, July 13, the MLB Network Radio channel’s coverage from Coors Field begins at 1:00 pm ET/11:00 am MT with a special edition of Power Alley hosted by Jenny Cavnar, Jim Duquette and Ryan Spilborghs.  At 4:00 pm ET/2:00 pm MT MLB Network Radio will air MLB Network’s High Heat with Christopher Russo, followed at 5:00 pm ET/3:00 pm MT by SiriusXM’s All-Star Pregame Show, hosted by two-time All-Star Brad Lidge alongside Mike Ferrin and Jim Bowden.  Listeners will hear interviews with Major League Baseball Commissioner Rob Manfred and many of the coaches and players at Coors Field.  The pre-game show will lead into ESPN Radio’s play-by-play broadcast of the All-Star Game starting at 8:00 pm ET/6:00 pm MT. 

On SiriusXM’s Mad Dog Sports Radio channel, Christopher Russo will host his daily all-sports show, Mad Dog Unleashed, live from Coors Field on both Monday and Tuesday at 5:00 pm ET/3:00 pm MT, prior to the Home Run Derby and the All-Star Game.

With this year’s MLB All-Star festivities in the “Mile High” city of Denver, SiriusXM’s MLB Network Radio channel will also present a “Baseball with Altitude” special as part of its coverage.  Debuting Monday, July 12, at noon ET/10:00 am MT and available anytime on the SXM App, the documentary will look at the history of baseball in Denver, from the origin of the Rockies franchise through their thrilling run to the 2007 World Series.  The special will be narrated by former Rockies outfielder Ryan Spilborghs and will include interviews with Hall of Famer Larry Walker, Todd Helton, Clint Hurdle, and others.

MLB Network Radio (channel 89) and Mad Dog Sports Radio (channel 82) are available to subscribers nationwide in their car and on their phone and connected devices at home with the SXM App. 

About Jerry Milani

mm
Jerry Milani is a freelance writer and public relations executive living in Bloomfield, N.J. He has worked in P.R. for more than 25 years in college and conference sports media relations, two agencies and for the International Fight League, a team-based mixed martial arts league, and now is the PR manager for Wizard World, which runs pop culture and celebrity conventions across North America. Milani is also the play-by-play announcer for Caldwell University football and basketball broadcasts. He is a proud graduate of Fordham University and when not attending a Yankees, Rams or Cougars game can be reached at Jerry (at) JerryMilani (dot) com.

Check Also

NLL Partners With Lax Sav As Official Equipment Partner

The National Lacrosse League (@NLL), the largest and most successful professional lacrosse property in the ...