Home / News / Thompson Wins Fifth Straight Sportsmanship Award, Dawson Wins Second Teammate Award

Thompson Wins Fifth Straight Sportsmanship Award, Dawson Wins Second Teammate Award

Lyle Thompson (Credit: Philadelphia Wings)

The National Lacrosse League (@NLL), the largest and most successful professional lacrosse property in the world, today announced that Lyle Thompson and Dan Dawson have won the Sportsmanship Award and Teammate of the Year Award respectively.

Lyle Thompson, 30, (Onondaga Nation, NY) wins his fifth straight Sportsmanship Award and the Georgia Swarm’s sixth straight (Jordan Hall, 2017). As one of the faces of the NLL and the game of lacrosse, Thompson carries himself in a manner worthy of five straight titles as voted by teams across the league and through the media. His work on the floor almost led Georgia into the playoffs after an 0-7 start, but his work off the field to grow the game is unprecedented, especially in Indigenous communities.

The 2017 NLL MVP finished the 2022-23 campaign tied for the team lead in points at 106, eighth in the NLL. He contributed 46 goals which ranks fifth among all players, 10 caused turnovers and only two penalty minutes. He was one of six players with 100+ points and 100+ loose ball recoveries.

  • Lyle Thompson – 230 points
  • Kyle Buchanan – 170 points
  • Tom Schreiber – 146 points

Dan Dawson, 41, (Oakville, ON) wins his second Teammate of the Year Award, after co-winning the award in 2020 with Mike Poulin. Dawson has played the most games in NLL history and is the longest tenured player, with his rookie campaign dating back to 2002 with the Columbus Landsharks. The 41-year-old, 2009 MVP and Sportsmanship Award winner helped lead Toronto to a 13-5 record. The Teammate of the Year Award was nominated by the player representatives from each team and voted upon by those 15 player representatives and the NLLPA. 

Below are the all-time winners of the Sportsmanship Award

  • 2023 – Lyle Thompson, Georgia Swarm
  • 2022 – Lyle Thompson, Georgia Swarm
  • 2020 – Lyle Thompson, Georgia Swarm
  • 2019 – Lyle Thompson, Georgia Swarm
  • 2018 – Lyle Thompson, Georgia Swarm
  • 2017 – Jordan Hall, Georgia Swarm
  • 2016 – Ben McIntosh, Saskatchewan Rush
  • 2015 – Kyle Buchanan, New England Black Wolves
  • 2014 – Garrett Billings, Toronto Rock
  • 2013 – Garrett Billings, Toronto Rock
  • 2012 – Johnny Powless, Rochester Knighthawks
  • 2011 – Jordan Hall, Rochester Knighthawks
  • 2010 – Shawn Williams, Rochester Knighthawks
  • 2009 – Dan Dawson, Boston Blazers
  • 2008 – Dan Carey, Colorado Mammoth
  • 2007 – Tracey Kelusky, Calgary Roughnecks
  • 2006 – Sean Greenhalgh, Philadelphia Wings
  • 2005 – Gary Gait, Colorado Mammoth
  • 2004 – Gary Gait, Colorado Mammoth & Peter Lough, Arizona Sting
  • 2003 – Chris Driscoll, New York Saints/Toronto Rock
  • 2002 – Jim Veltman, Toronto Rock

Below are the all-time winners of the Teammate of the Year Award

  • 2022 – Jeremy Thompson, Panther City Lacrosse Club
  • 2020 – Dan Dawson, Toronto Rock & Mike Poulin, Georgia Swarm
  • 2019 – John Ranagan, Georgia Swarm
  • 2018 – Craig England, Buffalo Bandits
  • 2017 – Mike Poulin, Georgia Swarm
  • 2016 – Mike Poulin, Calgary Roughnecks
  • 2015 – Joel McCready, Vancouver Stealth

For the latest scores and developments in the National Lacrosse League, please visit: NLL.com and find the NLL on FacebookInstagramTwitter, and TikTok.

About Jerry Milani

Jerry Milani is a writer and public relations executive living in Bloomfield, N.J. He has worked in P.R. for more than 30 years in college and conference sports media relations, two agencies and for the International Fight League, a team-based mixed martial arts league, and as a freelance professional. His PR clients have included Wizard World and FAN EXPO, which produce pop culture and celebrity conventions across North America, USA Wrestling, the National Lacrosse League, Strat-O-Matic Media, the Pacific Life Open and Pilot Pen Tennis tournaments and dozens of others. Milani is also the director of athletic communications for Caldwell University. He is a proud graduate of North Rockland High School and Fordham University and when not attending a Yankees, Rams or Cougars game can be reached at Jerry (at) JerryMilani (dot) com.

Check Also

Harlem Globetrotters Swanson, Rivers Join Samuelsson On Home Plate: New York Premiering Tuesday

Harlem Globetrotters on Home Plate: New York Harlem Globetrotters stars ‘Hot Shot’ Swanson and ‘Jet’ ...