Home / News / National Lacrosse League Sets Key Dates For the 2020-21 Season

National Lacrosse League Sets Key Dates For the 2020-21 Season

Toronto-RockThe National Lacrosse League (@NLL), the longest running and most successful professional lacrosse league in the world, today announced the following key dates for 2020 off-season lacrosse operations . The process was approved by the NLL Board of Governors during last week’s meetings and agreed upon with the Professional Lacrosse Players’ Association.


Starting Monday, June 29th at 12:00 PM ET, the roster transactions freeze will partially end and, for 72-hours, Clubs will be permitted to add Practice Players to the Active Roster for the purpose of retaining their services, release players, and agree with a Practice Player to a Protected Practice Player contract. Players who agree with their Club to a Protected Practice Player Contract will be scheduled to become a Restricted Free Agent on August 1st.

This 72-hour limited transactions window will end on Thursday, July 2nd at 12:00 PM ET. At this time, all typical off-season transactions will be allowed including the Clubs’ ability to re-sign their own players and make trades in preparation for the Free Agency period. Other key dates remain the same as previous seasons:


The Franchise Player Designation deadline is July 31st, 2020. Designated players will not become an Unrestricted Free Agent. Players who are 34-years old or older may reject the Franchise Player Designation.


The 2020 Free Agency period begins on August 1st, 2020. Players who qualify for Restricted Free Agency and Unrestricted Free Agency may be contacted by and sign with other Clubs.


Effective for the 2020 Entry Draft, Clubs will be permitted to draft NCAA players who have completed four seasons of eligibility, regardless of whether the player is returning to school to play a fifth NCAA season. If a player is drafted and returns to school to play a fifth NCAA season, the Club that drafted the player will retain its rights to the player.


The selection order was determined by reverse order of regular season winning percentage, using Overall Tiebreakers under the NLL Regulations when necessary.

Using this season’s final regular season standings, the 2020 Entry Draft order is as follows:

1. New York

2. Rochester

3. Vancouver

4. San Diego

5. Calgary

6. Colorado

7. Philadelphia

8. Georgia

9. Buffalo

10. Toronto

11. Halifax

12. Saskatchewan

13. New England

Georgia owns New England’s pick in the first round.

Dates for the 2020-21 NLL Draft and other key information regarding the start of the 35th NLL season will be announced in the coming weeks.

For the most up to date information and breaking news, sign up for the NLL newsletter at NLL.com. Also follow Deputy Commissioner Jessica Berman and Commissioner Sakiewicz on Twitter @JessicaBerman1 and @NLLcommish, respectively.

About Jerry Milani

Jerry Milani is a writer and public relations executive living in Bloomfield, N.J. He has worked in P.R. for more than 30 years in college and conference sports media relations, two agencies and for the International Fight League, a team-based mixed martial arts league, and as a freelance professional. His PR clients have included Wizard World and FAN EXPO, which produce pop culture and celebrity conventions across North America, USA Wrestling, the National Lacrosse League, Strat-O-Matic Media, the Pacific Life Open and Pilot Pen Tennis tournaments and dozens of others. Milani is also the director of athletic communications for Caldwell University. He is a proud graduate of North Rockland High School and Fordham University and when not attending a Yankees, Rams or Cougars game can be reached at Jerry (at) JerryMilani (dot) com.

Check Also

New NFL and NCAA Schools Join The Lineup For Second Annual Coach Knapp Stair Climb Initiative

The Coach Knapp Memorial Fund, named in honor of veteran NFL assistant coach Greg Knapp, ...